Ready-made review: Slimming World Beef in Red Onion Gravy with Veg Crush

Usually, every meal I eat is something I have made from scratch with my own fair hands. I do this for three reasons:

  1. I really enjoy cooking
  2. I like to know exactly what goes into the things I eat
  3. Ready meals don’t tend to taste anywhere near as good as something I can make myself

Sometimes, however, it’s nice to be able to just bung something int he microwave or oven and not have to think about it, and that’s where ready meals come into it.

So, without further ado, here is my first ready-made review…

I HAVE NOT BEEN PAID FOR THESE REVIEWS, NOR WAS I GIVEN ANY PRODUCTS FOR FREE – I BOUGHT THEM MYSELF AND ALL OPINIONS EXPRESSED ARE ENTIRELY MY OWN

11039903_10155450687030386_7645639936157123267_oSlimming World Beef in Red Onion Gravy with Veg Crush
This meal is absolutely FREE on the programme, but it’s advised that you add extra speed veg to pad it out and make it a bit better plan-wise.

You can heat the meal in the microwave (which takes 12 minutes) or in the oven (which takes 40 minutes), and the container is split into two sections – one with the meat in gravy, and one with the veg crush. as you would expect from a ready-meal, the portions aren’t huge, but they’re not tiny either – as ready-meals go, the portions are generous enough.

The chunks of beef aren’t huge, but they are tender, tasty and there are plenty of them, and the gravy is rather yummy. The veg crush (which is carrot and swede) was a little watery once on the plate, and had a curiously strong flavour, I love both carrot and swede, but this was not altogether a pleasant flavour. It wasn’t horrible or anything, but it wasn’t particularly tasty – still, it was edible, so I ate it.

I served mine with steamed cauliflower, broccoli, fine beans and asparagus, and lightly sauteed red onion, courgette and mushrooms (using a little low-cal spray oil), which filled my plate and padded it out nicely (actually, I couldn’t eat all of it – on this occasion, my eyes were bigger than my belly!).

Overall, this is a fairly decent ready-meal, but not one I would buy for myself on a regular basis. However, it includes the full recipe for the dish on the packaging, should you decide you’d like to make it for yourself from scratch, which is a nice touch, and I may well find myself cooking it in the future (I’ve saved the recipe just in case!).

11103013_10155450731355386_1803448738793890461_o

3 thoughts on “Ready-made review: Slimming World Beef in Red Onion Gravy with Veg Crush

Leave a Reply

