Non-scales victory

NSVA non-scales victory is something that makes you feel good but has nothing to do with the number you see when you step on the scales – it’s more to do with how you look or feel, something that makes you smile or feel proud and is a result of your body being healthier than it was. Lately I’ve had several non-scales victories, and I thought I’d share them here…

  1. LADYA few weeks ago I went to buy some new leggings (I wear them under short dresses or long tunic, as I couldn’t find a single pair. I was in a hurry, so I ran into the shop and grabbed a pair identical to several pairs I already have, in exactly the same size as I already owned. I then ended up forgetting about them for a couple of weeks as I found something else to wear. When I did pull those leggings out of the bag and put them on, they were too big! Not just too big, but massively too big. So big that they actually fell down around my hips!
    I had no idea it was possible for leggings to fall down. Not only that, they were baggier on the legs, so that they looked like something approaching slacks!
  2. This week I went for my weekly swimming session and smashed my previous speed record. Now, I’m not a fast swimmer, and never have been. I can do breast stroke, but only if I keep my face out of the water. I can’t do crawl or butterfly or any other stroke – just breast stroke. When I started swimming regularly, I could do 20 laps in half an hour if I pushed it. Last week I did 30 laps in 35 minutes. This week, I did 32 laps in 30 minutes.
    That means, I’ve gone from 90 seconds per lap, to under 60 seconds per lap in about 6 weeks or so. I am very pleased about this!
  3. At the start of the year, I got on the bus with Choochie in his buggy. There is a space on the bus reserved for wheelchairs and buggies, but one buggy was already in the space and two ladies were sitting in the seats next to it, so I had to stand. Not only that, but I had to squeeze in between the pole and the back rest piece of the space. While squeezing through the gap, I accidentally set off the buzzer with my belly. And it’s not the normal “ding” button of the regular stop requests, it’s the loud “BUZZZZ!” of the disabled space, so everyone knew it was me who had pressed the button, I did it again squeezing back out before getting off the bus. I felt humiliated and avoided getting on the bus again for ages.
    Yesterday I got on the bus again and saw that I would have to squeeze through that gap. My heart sank. I didn’t want to set off that buzzer again! But I got through the space easily, with MORE THAN THREE INCHES of space left over! I couldn’t believe it. It’s a significant shrinkage!

So, I’m still way heavier and bigger than I should be or want to be, but I’m making good progress and now I have proof both on and off the scales that it really is working.

Leave a Reply

