Recipe: HEb Oat Cookies

Does anyone else have a weakness for biscuits or cookies? Mine is the absolute worst! I see a cookie jar or a biscuit barrel and I just want to dive in there and not come out till there is nothing left but crumbs. And then still not come out till the crumbs are gone too.

Unfortunately, when one “goes on a diet” or tries to eat more healthily, one of the first things to go is usually the sweet, sugary treats, and even if we allow ourselves treats (or in Slimming World’s case, syns), there is often some guilt attached to having those things. There shouldn’t be, of course, because you should allow yourself anything you fancy in moderation, but I’m not kidding myself – if I have one biscuit, I usually want another, and then another, and another, and another…

But what if there was a biscuit you could have that was syn-free?

Oho! Now, there’s a thought!

Well, I found this little recipe online and I gave it a try last night, so I thought I’d share it with you.

Key:
F = Free food (eat as much as you like)
S = Speed food (these should make up at least a third of your meal)
P = Protein free food (eat as much of these as you like!)
HEa = Healthy Extra A (a daily allowance of dairy produce)
HEb = Healthy Extra B (a daily allowance of a product with fibre)
# = a number denotes roughly how many syns are in foods used

11411834_10155584776585386_5303301955306540891_oHEb OAT COOKIES
(makes 6 cookies)

Ingredients:

  • 35g oats (HEb)
  • 1 egg (P)
  • 2tsp vanilla essence (F)
  • 4tbsp sweetener (F)
  • low-cal spray oil (F)

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/gas mark 4
  • Mix all the ingredients together, making sure they are all well incorporated, and leave to sit for 15 minutes so that the oats soften.
  • Line a baking tray with greaseproof paper and spray with a little low-cal oil spray.
  • Dollop spoonfuls of the mixture on the baking tray, leaving plenty of space in between. The mixture will be very runny, but don’t worry!
  • Pop them in the oven for 10-15 minutes till golden and cooked through.
  • Leave on the tray to cool for a few minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack to finish cooling.

If you use oats as your HEb, then these are entirely syn-free! If not, then all six cookies come to 6 syns, or one syn each.

I left mine in a touch too long, so they were a little dry, but they were fine once I dunked them in my glass of milk (from my HEa allowance). I might be tempted to try these again using almond essence and perhaps syn a couple of glace cherries to decorate – I’ll certainly be trying these again. Even my picky hubby said they tasted nice, so I guess that’s a win!

One thought on “Recipe: HEb Oat Cookies

Leave a Reply

