Ready-Made Review: The Great Syn-Free Sausage Comparison

Who doesn’t love sausages? Seriously – there’s nothing quite like a good fry up for curing a hang over, or more comforting on a dreary day than bangers and mash, or more reminiscent of a summer’s day than a BBQ with sausages sizzling on the grill. Sausages are the great go-to for millions.

But if you’re trying to shift the extra pounds, sausages are often right off the menu, which is a crying shame, and enough to make the most will-powered person crumble into a quivering heap on the kitchen floor.

Not any more! Because there are actually some syn-free sausages out there that we can enjoy without any guilt! I decided to compare the syn-free sausages I could get hold of to see how they square up. I have been told of a local butcher who does extra-lean sausages which can be eaten pretty much freely, but as they are not not “officially” syn-free (and as such, not officially endorsed by Slimming World), and not freely available to everyone outside of my locality, I’ve left them out of the comparison.

The three sausages I’m comparing are:

  • Linda McCartney’s Vegetarian Red Onion & Rosemary Sausages
  • Slimming World Pork Sausages
  • Slimming World Mediterranean-style Chicken Sausages

They are all available from the freezer section of various stores and cook from frozen. I cooked all mine in the oven, although they also have directions on the packets for grilling.

Out of nothing but the sheer sense of duty, and at great personal hardship, I made myself a lunch of sausages with baked beans, scrambled eggs, mushrooms, red onion, and roasted cherry tomatoes. I didn’t do it for my own enjoyment at all. Honest. No, really… Oh, who am I kidding? I love a good fry up as much as the next person!

I HAVE NOT BEEN PAID FOR THESE REVIEWS, NOR WAS I GIVEN ANY PRODUCTS FOR FREE – I BOUGHT THEM MYSELF AND ALL OPINIONS EXPRESSED ARE ENTIRELY MY OWN

rosemaryredonionsausages3dLinda McCartney’s Vegetarian Red Onion & Rosemary Sausages
I rather like these vegetarian sausages. They have a rough texture akin to a good meat sausage, and the red onion gives them a hint of sweetness which is then offset by the rosemary. I find them tasty, and they work well with a nice onion gravy for a decent dish of bangers and mash. However, make sure you don’t overcook them, as they quickly become very dry, which makes them rather less pleasant to eat. These are regularly in my freezer to grab when I fancy a sausage or two. They come in a box of six sausages and are available from the freezer section of most supermarkets, alongside the other vegetarian fare.

pork sausagesSlimming World Pork Sausages
The pork sausages have a smooth, firm texture and definitely taste like a pork sausage. I actually prefer a rougher, more rustic texture, but these are unobtrusive and won’t offend your taste buds with their mild flavour, and if you like a smoother texture to your sausage, these won’t feel unfamiliar in your mouth. They come in a bag of six sausages, and are exclusively available from Iceland stores – most of them seem to have a freezer set aside specifically for their Slimming World products, so they’re not difficult to find. I keep a bag in my freezer for sausage-based emergencies, and they’re fairly decent in a toad-in-the-hole if you’re synning the batter.

chicken sausagesSlimming World Mediterranean-style Chicken Sausages
These are new out on the market, and although I’ve never been a huge fan of chicken sausages, these aren’t too bad – they’re certainly not the worst I’ve ever tasted. They have a mildly spicy flavour, the same firm texture as the pork sausages, but an even smoother texture. These would be great for those trying to avoid red meat but who don’t want to go full-on vegetarian. I get the feeling that flame grilling these on a BBQ would possibly be the best way to go, as the smokiness of the BBQ would add a nice bit of something extra to them.

Conclusion:
My favourite is the Linda McCartney sausage, but that’s largely down to the rougher, more rustic texture of them, which is more reminiscent of a high quality meat sausage (which I will occasionally go for and syn as a special treat, but oh, my! They take up a lot of syns!). However, both the pork and chicken Slimming World sausages are pleasing alternatives that I will keep in my freezer for future use. I get the feeling my kids might deign to eat the pork ones, but they’d turn up their noses at the vegetarian option and don’t like anything remotely spicy (go figure!), so if you have picky kids and want a family meal you can all enjoy together without having to cook several different options, the pork sausages are probably the way to go.

One thought on “Ready-Made Review: The Great Syn-Free Sausage Comparison

Leave a Reply

