Recipe: Cheesy Potato Bacon Bake

If there’s one thing I love most about the Slimming World plan, it’s being able to eat potatoes, pasta and rice freely – especially potatoes – my world would be a sad place if I couldn’t eat potatoes!

Thank you to Kelly Wynn at group for mentioning this brilliant recipe – I could hardly wait (weight? LOL!) to try it and it was every bit as gorgeous as she said it would be!

Key:
F = Free food (eat as much as you like)
S = Speed food (these should make up at least a third of your meal)
P = Protein free food (eat as much of these as you like!)
HEa = Healthy Extra A (a daily allowance of dairy produce)
HEb = Healthy Extra B (a daily allowance of a product with fibre)
# = a number denotes roughly how many syns are in foods used

11754398_10155725735110386_944701346569675122_oCHEESY POTATO BACON BAKE
Serves as many as you like.
Amounts are as you like them – it’s a great way to use up leftovers.

Ingredients:

  • Leftover mashed potato (F)
  • Bacon – all fat removed (P)
  • Low-cal spray oil (F)
  • Vegetables of choice (F/S)
  • Grated cheese (HEa)

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 180C.
  • Cut the bacon into small pieces and fry it in a little low-cal spray oil.
  • Stir the bacon and vegetables into the mashed potato.
  • Spoon the mixture into a muffin tin or baking dish.
  • Top with cheese.
  • Pop it in the oven for 150-15 minutes till warmed through and the cheese has melted. Leave it a little longer if you like your cheese to go golden and crispy.

I mashed carrot into my potato, fried some diced onion and crushed garlic with my bacon, and stirred though some sweetcorn. I would also have mashed swede into it if I’d had any, just because I like it, and I might have added some cabbage too. I topped mine with Babybel Light, which I grated finely to make it go further (there was a single Babybel Light for the top of that whole dish). I didn’t fancy it going crispy on this occasion, so I only left it in the oven till it was all melty, but I may leave it in longer for a crispy top next time.

This is a very easy dish to throw together using the leftovers from your Sunday roast, so you end up with no waste at all. This will definitely become a regular side dish in our house – absolutely delicious!

3 thoughts on “Recipe: Cheesy Potato Bacon Bake

  1. Love the idea of crushing carrot in the potatoes as I don’t like carrot, but that sounds alright so I’ll give this a go. What would make it healther is to use turkey ‘bacon’ instead of real bacon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

