Hair today, gone tomorrow…

22.05.15 - World Goth Day 1 (1)
My locks will be lopped on 2nd August 2016

My Great Grandad died when I was six months old. He was diagnosed with cancer and told he had weeks to live, but he hung on in there to meet his first great grandchild. I never knew him, but I knew about him. A couple of years ago my Uncle Cas died of pancreatic cancer. It was sudden – very unexpected – we hadn’t even known he was ill. It was a shocking loss. He’d been there all my life and then suddenly, he wasn’t.

In recent years, my Auntie has beaten breast cancer, Grom has beaten skin cancer twice, and my Dad has beaten prostate cancer too. You could say cancer kind of runs in my family.

It’s a scary thought, but I don’t think I know anyone who hasn’t either had cancer or knows someone who has fought it or died of it.

So, I’m taking part in the BRAVE THE SHAVE challenge.

A year from now, I will have all my hair shaved off.

This is for all those who have fought and won, for those who are still fighting, for those who lost their battles, and for all the families who have to watch their loved ones go through it.

I’ll also be donating my hair to Little Princess Trust, a charity that makes wigs from donated hair for those who have none of their own for whatever reason, hence I’m growing it for a year beforehand (it’s currently almost a foot long, but I’d like to really give it my all and have another five or six inches extra to give!).

My target is £365 – £1 for every day I’ll be growing my hair. £1 for each day between now and the day it all comes off! Of course, I’d LOVE to smash that target, but it’s a place to start, right?!

My locks will be lopped on 2nd August 2016.

If you’d like to sponsor me,
you can do so at my
BRAVE THE SHAVE page.

All money goes directly to
Macmillan Cancer Support.

2 thoughts on “Hair today, gone tomorrow…

  1. You are doing an amazing thing. I have donated my red hair twice. I lost my mom to lung cancer and my grandfather to lung and colon cancer. My father had skin cancer which I have as well. I spent my youth outside with my horse and no sunscreen. I am thinking about growing my hair one more time before there is too much gray. I look forward to following and see how everything goes.

    Like

    • Twice? Wow, that’s amazing, Deborah! Good for you! I’m so sorry for your loss. I know it helps a little to feel like you’re doing something useful and helpful, but I also know it never fully goes away. *hugs*

      Like

Leave a Reply

