Thank goodness for preparation!

We all have days when we don’t have time to gather our thoughts, let alone cook a healthy meal from scratch, and those days where we just can’t be bothered to do it.

I officially can’t be bothered cooking today, so thank goodness for bulk cooking in advance!

Lunch is sorted (carrot, leek and lentil soup I made yesterday and have sitting in a jug in the fridge), and meatballs in a delicious tomato sauce, packed with loads of speed veg is busy defrosting ready for dinner tonight – all I have to do is chuck some pasta on to boil and top with a little cheese from my HEa and I’m good to go!

I had several meals from which to choose too – along with the meatballs in sauce, I also have frozen individual portions of several different curries, bolognese, and chilli (I’ve run out of lasagne – there’s usually a couple of those in there too!).

Later in the week, I plan to make a sausage casserole, so there’ll be portions of that going in the freezer too.

It really does make things super easy for me – I always have at least half a dozen meals in the top of my freezer, so when I get to the end of the month, and there’s precious little left in the fridge or the cupboards, and there are still a few days before we can get to the supermarket to replenish our stocks, we don’t need to resort to the cheap and nasty junk food that so many rely on in a pinch.

slow_cooking_lifestyle_ahero_01_A1And I’ll tell you what – I don’t know how I managed before I got my slow cooker! The one I have now is actually my second – I used my first one all the time and when the lid got broken, so did my heart. But I went straight out and got another one – a bigger one – and I love it! It’s so easy to just throw everything in there first thing in the morning, and just leave it. I can do my housework, go out and run whatever errands need to be run, and when I come home again, dinner is ready. Not only that, mine’s so big I can get a good 10-12 portions of food in there easily, and as we’re a family of four, than means a good 6-8 extra portions, so it’s easy to fill up my freezer with those little foil cartons – everything clearly labelled with what is in there (yes, complete with an ingredients list, so I can make an informed choice if I decide to have an SP day) and the date it was made. Every time I make more meals, I rotate everything so that nothing is left too long and nothing is wasted.

If you don’t already have a slow cooker, I highly recommend getting hold of one. You can pick up a basic model at a very reasonable price (I’ve seen them for under a tenner, which is fantastic!). You don’t need a fancy one – the basic models will get the job done. Soon you’ll find you have a freezer full of hearty, healthy meals to keep you on-plan even when you’re flagging.

Being tired and busy is no longer an excuse to eat unhealthily if you get prepared!

One thought on “Thank goodness for preparation!

Leave a Reply

