Infused Water

Infused water seems to be everywhere at the moment. Every time I log on to any website or social media, everyone everywhere is harping on about the stuff and how it’s wonderful and will help deflate a bloated tummy.

Well, my tummy still sticks out a fair bit, so I thought I’d give it a try.

You can get those special jugs that have a core for your fruit and veg so that you don’t get bits in your water, but to be honest, I wasn’t willing to fork out megabucks for something I might use just once and then bung in the back of the cupboard, so I got out a regular jug and just dumped everything in, hoping for the best.

Pretty much every recipe for tummy-deflating infused water called for lemons and cucumber, both of which I already had. I also had a couple of other ingredients I thought might make for a pleasant flavour.

11886157_10155872566590386_1976916367707823901_o
After drinking half of it, I topped it up again

Here’s what I used:

  • Half a lemon (unwaxed, thinly sliced)
  • 1 lime (unwaxed, thinly sliced)
  • A chunk of cucumber the size of my thumb (washed, thinly sliced or grated)
  • A chunk of fresh ginger root the size of the end of my thumb (peeled, thinly sliced)
  • Water

I dumped the stuff in then filled my jug with water, squeezed the juice out of the the end bits of the lemon and lime, and whacked it in the fridge to infuse. I tried my first glass  few hours later and it was rather pleasant.

A few hours later on, it was a slightly stronger flavour and just as pleasant, so I topped it up a bit and then finished the jug over the course of the day.

I have no idea if it will make my tummy go down a bit, but I’m perfectly willing to drink it, and as it’s a touch more interesting than plain water, I might even drink a little more water than usual, which can only be a good thing.

I may add some extra things next time (once I’ve been shopping again!), like fresh mint and basil leaves

One thought on “Infused Water

  1. That sounds lovely! Like you, I have no idea if it will have any effect on ‘tummy bloat’, but any recipe to jazz up boring water without adding syns gets the thumbs up from me. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

