Speed for free!

A few weeks ago, I wrote about how I’d gone fruit picking with my big sister, niece and eldest son (take a look HERE). On that occasion we paid for our speed food, but over the last few days I’ve managed to land some speed food absolutely free!

I recently got myself an allotment, but it’s nowhere near ready to plant yet, so there won’t be a harvest this season. My next door neighbour’s daughter, however, has her allotment up and running, and took bags full of fresh produce round for her Mum and Dad. They couldn’t possibly get through all of it themselves, so my lovely neighbour passed some of it over the back fence to me. I got a big bag of delicious-looking potatoes (with the dirt still on – proper potatoes!), a big bunch of carrots, some beetroot (going to have to find out what to do with those!), tomatoes, peppers and chillies, a cabbage, a cucumber, some broccoli, a cauliflower, a small squash, an enormous turnip, and a very fat courgette! I was over the moon, as I had been planning a top-up shop for extra veg the next morning, and now I didn’t have to do that. And there’s something lovely about knowing exactly where your food comes from.

The next day was sunny and warm, so after lunch, once Hubby was home, I left Choochie at home with Daddy, while Tadpole and I went out with a 6-litre tub to fill with wild blackberries.

01.09.15 - blackberryingWe’re very lucky in that there are hoards of wild blackberry bushes growing very near our home, so we just ambled over there and started filling our tub. As you can see, we got heaps! Not only that, but there are loads of berries still ripening, and the blushes are all still flowering too! At this rate, we could still be picking them in November!

Anyway, we got a wonderful haul in an hour and a half, so the boys will be getting their favourite blackberry crumble for pudding, and there will be plenty to freeze too, as well as enough to make some jam (blackberry jam is my favourite!).

So all in all, our haul of free speed food over the last few days has been great, and we’ve managed to get in a little body magic while we gathered half of it ourselves! Well worth the thorns in my thumb and the nettle rash on my arm!

Leave a Reply

