Recipe: Chilli Jam

I love jams, chutneys, and preserves. There’s nothing quite like the sticky delights that you spoon out of the jar and pop on top of whatever you’re eating, but they tend to be loaded with sugar, which means synning. Fair enough, they might be low-syns overall, but when I saw a recipe for chilli jam that was syn-free, I had to give it a try!

The only problem was, after downloading it I couldn’t read all of the recipe card the person had made up, and when I went back to ask about it, I couldn’t remember which group I’d seen it in, and I couldn’t find the recipe anywhere, so I had to wing it a bit…

11891401_10155909769710386_360177585593750070_o
My little jar of syn-free chilli “jam”

Key:
F = Free food (eat as much as you like)
S = Speed food (these should make up at least a third of your meal)
P = Protein free food (eat as much of these as you like!)
HEa = Healthy Extra A (a daily allowance of dairy produce)
HEb = Healthy Extra B (a daily allowance of a product with fibre)
# = a number denotes roughly how many syns are in foods used

CHILLI JAM
Makes one small jar – syn-free

Ingredients:

  • 1 red bell pepper (S)
  • 2 red sweet peppers (S)
  • 3 red chilli peppers (S)
  • artificial sweetener (F)
  • water (F)

Directions:

  • De-seed and finely dice the peppers and chilli peppers.
  • Pop them all in a pan with a little water (barely enough to cover them), and add the sweetener (the recipe simply stated “loads” so just bung in what you think will work, and you can add more if need be).
  • Bring to the boil, then turn down the heat a little and let it simmer, stirring occasionally, till the liquid has reduced down to almost nothing.
  • Pop it all in a sterilized jar.

I have no idea how long it will last in or out of the fridge, as with a jam, the sugar would be the preservative. However, this recipe only makes a very small amount which can be used within a few days if need be.

I tried it two days in a row – the first day I dolloped it on top of salmon before popping it in the oven, the second day I did the same thing with chicken breasts.

Although it wasn’t really a “jammy” texture (because there is no sugar in it), it tasted rather pleasant. It was a sweet chilli jam with a little bit of heat (I took out all the seeds as I didn’t want it to be too hot, but if you like plenty of kick, feel free to leave those chilli seeds in there!).

I would definitely make this again as a syn-free topping, but I think I’ll also make some in a more traditional way, using sugar, and syn it, as that would be lovely on crackers or as a sauce for pork.

Leave a Reply

