Recipe: Carrot and Beetroot Soup

I was given a bag of veg by my neighbour and I was at a loss as to what to do with some of it, especially the beetroot – I’d only ever eaten the pickled kind that comes in a jar. I also had some very spindly carrots in that bag, so when I saw the recipe on the Slimming World website, I thought I’d give it a go. However, I didn’t have the exact ingredients to hand, so I made my own up as I went along.

You can find the official Slimming World recipe for Carrot and Beetroot soup HERE, but below, you’ll find my own take on it.

Key:
F = Free food (eat as much as you like)
S = Speed food (these should make up at least a third of your meal)
P = Protein free food (eat as much of these as you like!)
HEa = Healthy Extra A (a daily allowance of dairy produce)
HEb = Healthy Extra B (a daily allowance of a product with fibre)
# = a number denotes roughly how many syns are in foods used

11223350_10155916747045386_1057135066156075677_o
Yes, it really IS as red as the picture shows! Such a pretty, vibrant shade!

CARROT AND BEETROOT SOUP
Serves 3-4 and is syn-free

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium-small beetroot – fresh, raw ones! (S)
  • a dozen skinny carrots (S)
  • 2 small onions (S)
  • 1 large garlic clove (S)
  • 1 chicken stock cube (F)
  • pinch each of nutmeg, cumin and ground ginger (F)
  • water (F)
  • salt – to taste (F)
  • handful of fresh coriander – finely chopped (F)
  • low-cal spray oil (F)

Directions:

  • Peel and dice the onion, and crush the garlic, then fry off in a little low-cal spray oil.
  • Peel and dice the carrots and beetroots, then add them to the pan with the spices and water.
  • Bring to the boil, then reduce the heat and simmer for 20-25 minutes till the vegetables are tender.
  • Whiz the soup with a blender till smooth, adding more water if the consistency is too thick.
  • Add the chopped coriander and the salt, stir through, and return to the heat for 5 minutes.
  • Serve.

Obviously, the quantities seem a little squiffy, as I just used what i had to hand (it’s grocery-shopping day and we’re out of pretty much everything!) – if I’d had more of anything, I would have put more in the pot. As it is, it turned out rather delicious. If you like the decadence of swirling fat-free fromage frais in your soups, I suspect this would be lovely with this soup (I’m not a fan of it, so I didn’t do that, and it was lovely without).

The colour is a lovely, rich red which looks rather pretty in the bowl. I’ll definitely make this soup again!

Leave a Reply

