Tough Love…

There’s been a lot of chatter on the internet about an ex-drill instructor ranting about fat people in a video. This is the video:

There’s been a whole lot of anger from people, saying he’s out of line, that he’s fat-shaming and that he hurts people’s feelings.

Well, I’m a fat person, and here’s my take on it.

At the start of the year, I was at my heaviest weight ever. I was incredibly unhappy with myself and I finally resolved to do something about it.

By the time I’d lost just over three stones, and was stalling a little, I was wondering if it was worth keeping on, or if I should just accept that I was going to be fat forever.

Then I saw that video and I felt terrible. It really hurt my feelings.

Do you know why it hurt my feelings? Because everything he said was TRUE! I was fat and lazy for years and didn’t do anything to stop it. I sat on my butt and didn’t exercise. I made excuse after excuse:

  • I’m too busy, I don’t have the time to work out.
  • I’m too tired to work out.
  • The weather is horrible, so I can’t go out.
  • I like nice things to eat and don’t want to feel deprived.

Those were just a few of the excuses I fed to myself (along with too much of all the wrong food!) as I sat on my backside and got fatter and fatter and fatter.

The thing is, this guy has been bigger, and he worked his butt off to get back in shape (and he looks awesome now!). He acknowledges that there are medical conditions that can mean you gain weight or find it hard to lose extra weight, but he’s right on the nose when he says that in most cases, we’ve done this to ourselves and it’s up to us to get up and make the change for ourselves. We have to have enough respect and love for ourselves to want to do something about it, and then to actually do it!

So, yes, a lot of people are angry and upset and hurt, but personally, from a fat person trying to make the change, I think John Burke is amazing, motivational, and inspirational! It’s tough love, but sometimes that’s what it takes.

Maybe we should all take a leaf out of his book and give ourselves a good talking to? Maybe it’s time we all just stopped making excuses and being all nicey-nicey for fear of upsetting people. Maybe we need some tough love from an ex-drill sergeant who makes a video telling us that we are abusing ourselves and letting ourselves down; that we’re lazy and making ourselves sick; that we could be and do so much more! Maybe it’s time we admitted to ourselves that we’re to blame, and if that upsets us, it’s because sometimes the truth hurts.

Now, put down that plateful of food that’s no good for you and make yourself a healthy meal, then GET UP AND GET ACTIVE! Go on! I’ll be right there with you. You can do it – I can do it – we can ALL do it if we really want it.

LET’S KICK SOME ASS!

Leave a Reply

