Recipe: White Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

I love a good dessert, and I hate to feel that I’m having a “diet” version of something I love – it makes me feel deprived while everyone else is guzzling down the chocolate gateau and ice cream, which then makes me feel like having a big binge-y blow-out, which is never good.

So I was delighted to find a low-syn recipe for a delicious white chocolate and raspberry mousse that tastes decidedly syn-ful and not diet-y at all! It’s also surprisingly quick and easy to make. Read on…

Key:
F = Free food (eat as much as you like)
S = Speed food (these should make up at least a third of your meal)
P = Protein free food (eat as much of these as you like!)
HEa = Healthy Extra A (a daily allowance of dairy produce)
HEb = Healthy Extra B (a daily allowance of a product with fibre)
# = a number denotes roughly how many syns are in foods used

12132637_10156049839435386_5447834494532647528_o
I decorated my mouse with fresh raspberries – delicious!

WHITE CHOCOLATE & RASPBERRY MOUSSE
(serves 4 at 1 syn per person)

Ingredients:

  • 3 egg whites (P)
  • 1 tub (around 250g) quark (P)
  • 1 sachet Options White Chocolate (2)
  • 1 sachet sugar-free raspberry jelly (1.5 – 2)
  • 100mls boiling water

Directions:

  • Make the jelly with 100mls of boiling water, and set aside to cool.
  • Whip the egg whites till it gives good peaks (if you can turn your bowl upside-down without it falling out, it’s ready).
  • Add the Options to the quark and stir till well combined.
  • Gently fold the quark and Options mixture into the egg whites.
  • Gently stir the cooled (but still liquid) jelly into the mixture till well combined.
  • Pop it in the fridge until set (around 30 minutes or so).

I have to post a wee warning, however – very young children and pregnant women should avoid eating raw eggs, so don’t give any of this yummy dessert to them. However, if you are an adult who is not pregnant, you’re pretty safe to eat this, and older children should be fine too (I’m not sure what age it should be, to be honest, but if you’re fine with your kids licking raw cake batter off a spoon, then you’ll probably feel OK with them eating this mousse).

To be honest, I couldn’t really taste the white chocolate flavour in this recipe – I think it was overpowered by the raspberry – so if you want to save another couple of syns on the recipe, you could always omit the white chocolate Options and just make it raspberry mousse – I have been assured by the lovely lady in my weigh-in group, who gave me the recipe, that it’s just as tasty that way (thank you, Angela Collis!).

I used Asda’s own sugar free jelly, which comes in at 2 syns per sachet, but if you use Hartley’s, that comes in at only 1.5 syns per sachet.

The upside is that you can pig out and eat the whole lot if you really feel like it, and it’ll only cost you 3.5-4 syns, and it tastes like it should be so many more, which is pretty awesome! I went ahead and ate half of it as dessert, with plans to eat the other half tomorrow, but my seven-year-old son had a taste and declared it delicious, so I’ve promised I’ll let him have some too. I should have known better than to let him taste it – it means less yumminess for me!

I will definitely make this again, and may well try other flavours – perhaps a chocolate orange Options with orange jelly – I bet that would tastes heavenly!

EDITED TO ADD:
I have now made chocolate orange mousse and it was, as expected lovely. I have also made lemon mousse, using a lemonade flavoured sugar-free jelly and the juice and zest of a lemon, which was very zingy and refreshing.

 

Leave a Reply

