Preparing for Xmas

I know it’s still only November, but it pays to be prepared, and so here’s my take on how to deal with the foodie festivities!

Everyone loves the festive season – family, friends, gifts… and loads of delicious food and drink. Am I right?

But what if you’re trying to lose weight? Do you deny yourself all the treats and feel like you’re missing out? Hell, no! I am NOT going to feel like the odd one out and feel miserable!

But I also don’t want to derail myself.

So, what am I going to do?

mrs.claus_Well, I only have six more weigh-ins before the big day, so I’m going to be on-plan the whole time up to then. in the hopes that I will steadily lose weight up to the Big Day, giving myself a great place from which to plan my attack.

I weigh in on a Tuesday, and Xmas day is a Friday this year, so from that last weigh-in before Xmas, I plan to follow the 777 challenge rules for Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, which will mean I will only have used a maximum of 21 syns for the week up till that point (rather than the maximum of 45).

On Xmas day, I will enjoy a light, fruity breakfast – probably melon and raspberries, because I love that for brekkie when I know I’ll be having rich food later on.

Lunch will be a mixed bag – there will be turkey and loads of speed veg*, all of which will be steamed and butter-free, and we’ll have Slimming World roast potatoes and parsnips, so that’s all good. Any syns on my plate will come from a bit of butter in the mashed potatoes, a small Yorkshire pudding, a little cranberry sauce, some roasted chestnuts, the gravy, and the skirlie (a traditional Scottish oatmeal stuffing, which I know full well will be high in syns, but I’m not even going to bother working them out because it will be depressing!). I will forgo the pigs-in-blankets, because, to be honest, I’ve never been a massive fan of them, and have only ever put a couple on my plate out of sheer tradition. Hubby and the kids can share them all out between themselves, and I won’t feel like I’m missing anything there.

This will be followed by a very small Christmas pudding (I’m the only one in the house who likes it, so I’ve bought a single individual pudding) with brandy sauce. Again, I’m not even going to bother looking at how many syns they’ll be, because I’ll not be able to enjoy them properly and then I’ll be miserable, feeling like I’m missing out.

I may have a glass or two (at most) of wine, because Xmas is one of the very few occasions in the ear when I do actually have a little drink (I’ll probably get myself one of those little bottles of low-cal wine and make it into a couple of spritzers with soda water). I may also have a couple of mince pies, because it’s not Xmas without those, although I think I’ll make some very tiny filo-pastry ones so they’re not as synful. I might even allow myself a couple of festive chocolates, however I’ve asked everyone not to give me sweets, chocolates, or foodie gifts this year, so I’m not too tempted by naughties! Tea and supper time will be nibbly food, and after all the rich stuff at lunch time, I’ll be keeping it light and syn-free.

So, Xmas Day itself will pretty much be sky-high syns.

However, on Boxing Day, I will make turkey curry and a huge vat of turkey and vegetable soup, both of which will be syn-free and packed with speed food. I will also revert to the 777 challenge rules for Saturday, Sunday and Monday.

My syns savings for the 6 days of 777 challenge will be a minimum of 42. Add to that my 15 syns that I would normally be allowed for the 7th day and I have a minimum of 57 syns to play with for Xmas Day. I don’t plan on piling my plate massively high, nor do I plan to push myself to finish once I start feeling full, so hopefully having 57 syns will be more than enough to make me feel I’ve taken full advantage of all the festive fayre and be satisfied.

I figure, I deserve to be able to enjoy Xmas Day with my family without a care in the world, but I also deserve to be free of guilt and to not derail myself.

When I weigh in the following Tuesday, I want to at least have maintained my weight of the previous week, although I’d LOVE it if I could lose a little – even half a pound would be fantastic – so I can head towards the New Year feeling fantastic!

Christmas_dinner_s_1852562a

* We have LOADS of veg at Xmas, most of which is speed food. Generally, we have mashed and roasted potatoes; roasted parsnips, butternut squash and chestnuts; steamed carrots, brussel sprouts, cauliflower, broccoli, and mashed swede (no butter). We also have peas and sweetcorn. The rest is made up of roast turkey, Yorkshire puddings, skirlie (Scottish oatmeal stuffing), a little dollop of cranberry sauce, and lashings of turkey gravy. I’m not a fan of sage and onion stuffing, but I often do some pork sausage stuffing for hubby and the boys (I’m not a fan of that, so I leave it off my plate).

Leave a Reply

