Ten fat sausages, sizzling in the pan…

… One went POP! And another went BANG!

To be fair, I never cook as many as ten sausages in one go, and I do mine under the grill anyway, but that’s beside the point. The point of this post isn’t to do with amounts or cooking methods, but it is to do with size and percentages.

Anyway, I finally found a meaty, low-syn sausage that I enjoy eating – it’s the Asda Reduced Fat Pork Sausage (1.5 syns per sausage), which has, and I quote, “40% less fat than the standard equivalent” and I note that two grilled sausages contains 4.6g of fat. Not too bad, as with the regular Asda Pork Sausages, two grilled sausages contain 14g of fat. That’s quite a difference.

However, a pack of eight reduced fat sausages weighs 400g, which means each sausage is 50g, but the pack of eight regular sausages weighs 454g, making each sausage 56.75g. Now, that doesn’t sound like an awfully big difference in weight – it’s only 6.75g – but when you look at the sausages side by side, you can clearly see the difference in size:

10363774_10156278302840386_2836221945901836705_n
The reduced fat sausage is on the left, and the regular one is on the right.

Now we’ll take a look at the percentages:

  • 4.6g is 4.6% of 100g (2 sausages), so the reduced fat sausages are 4.6% fat
  • 14g is 15.89% of 113.5g (2 sausages), so the regular sausages are 15.89% fat

My maths isn’t great, so that’s as far as I’ll go (and to be honest, I’m not 100% certain I’ve worked everything out correctly, so if you’re good at maths, please do take a look and see what answers you come up with and let me know by leaving a comment below – thanks in advance!).

The only point I’m really trying to work out is how much of the reduction is fat is actually down to the reduction in size?

Either way, I’m happy to keep on eating these sausages, because they’re tasty and they don’t make me feel like I’m eating “diet” food – they feel like a treat without eating up too much of my daily syns allowance, and that’s the important thing at the end of the day. I just thought it would be interesting to take a look at it.

And I wonder how many “reduced fat” products on the market actually owe a portion of their reduced fat to reduced portion size? It gives one pause for thought, really.

 

2 thoughts on “Ten fat sausages, sizzling in the pan…

  1. Hi Kell
    I buy Sainsbury’s ‘Be Good to Yourself’ sausages, similar to the Asda ones. I thought you were going to say that the difference in size is what happens when you take most of the fat out. Either way, the Sainsbury sausages are a regular part of our diet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

