Week 39 Weigh In

keep-calm-its-weigh-in-dayI usually post my weigh in update on a Tuesday, which is when I weigh in, but time got away from me and so I’m posting today, a day late, instead.

I had the perfect week, food-wise, and I was feeling great when I went into class – absolutely certain I was going to be at least 2lbs down. Imagine my surprise, disappointment, and outright confusion, when I discovered I had instead gained 2lbs!

I was horrified!

I pored over my food log to see where I could possibly have gone wrong, but no – every meal had a minimum of one third speed (often closer to the 50% mark), and most snacks also had that ratio. I was within my syn allowance every day, averaging 12-14 syns each day. I hadn’t done any extra official exercise per se, but I’d done all my usual walking and had started my mammoth start-of-the-year cleaning which I reckon would have been the equivalent of about three good, solid gym and swim sessions, as I really gutted the place.

depositphotos_19361503_xs_2295_detailSo, what went wrong?

I’ll tell you what went wrong.

Today the sharks started swimming. That’s what!

It seems that no matter how had I try, I am destined to have a gain nearly every time I get my period. The 3lbs loss last time must have been a total fluke, and I cannot expect to repeat it. It’s not an excuse, but it seems it is a reason, much as I hate it. Bloody hormones and water retention!

What I can do, however, is have another fantastic on-plan week this week and rock it at my next weigh in. I have my menus all planned out several days in advance, and despite also coming down with a heavy cold, I plan to continue with my intensive cleaning of the house from top to bottom, picking up where I left off in a couple of days when I feel a little better.

In the meantime, I shall dose myself with hot lemon and ginger tea, wrap up warm, chuck a couple of paracetamol down my throat, and look forward to the sausage casserole and chips I’m making myself for dinner tonight – proper comfort food, but Slimming World style, so only a couple of syns.

It’s a good job I’m like a rubber ball and bounce back easily!

On a positive note, I finished another Body Magic challenge today – Circumnavigate Lake Garda, which is 144kn. Next up is the UK Coast To Coast, which is 366km!

Leave a Reply

