Recipe: Blackberry Crumble

It’s winter, and it’s cold outside, and it’s Sunday, so let’s talk about the ultimate in comfort food puddings – the fruit crumble!

Back in the autumn, I picked buckets and buckets of wild blackberries. A lot got made into jam and liqueur, which I gave as gifts to friends and family at Christmas, but I also froze bags and bags of them. So, I figured it was about time I actually used some of them!

Blackberry crumble is one of my all-time favourite puddings. It reminds me of my childhood, and Sunday dinners at my Grom’s house. Well, today, she came to our house for Sunday dinner, so I thought I’d make a crumble. I made regular crumble for her and the kids, but I adapted the recipe a bit for my own, and made enough for two portions, so I can enjoy the rest of it tomorrow, as a treat.

When you cook or puree fruit, you are supposed to syn it. I’m not going to get into arguments over whether or not fruit should be synned – the plan says it is, so I’m synning it here for those others who also do that, If you don’t syn your cooked fruit then so be it – whatever works for you, right? Anyway, for those synning it, 100g of blackberries is only 1 syn, so it’s a low-syn choice, making it perfect for keeping the syns value down here!

Key:
F = Free food (eat as much as you like)
S = Speed food (these should make up at least a third of your meal)
P = Protein free food (eat as much of these as you like!)
HEa = Healthy Extra A (a daily allowance of dairy produce)
HEb = Healthy Extra B (a daily allowance of a product with fibre)
# = a number denotes roughly how many syns are in foods used

12565604_10156325345685386_5875461729212352182_nBLACKBERRY CRUMBLE
Serves 2, HEB + 4.5 syns per portion
Or, if you add another 35g of oats and split it between 3 people, HEB + 3 syns per portion

Ingredients:

  • 300g blackberries (3)
  • 70g oats (2 x HEB)
  • 2 level tbsp plain flour (4)
  • 2 tsp Lurpack Lightest (2)
  • Artificial sweetener to taste (F)

Directions:

  • Pre-heat your oven to 200C.
  • In an oven-proof bowl, add sweetener to your blackberries. My blackberries were rather sweet anyway, and I like mine with a little tartness, so I only used 1tbsp. Give it a good stir to mix it through well.
  • To make the crumble topping, put the oats, flour, Lurpack Lightest, and artificial sweetener to taste (again, I used about 1tbsp, as I don’t like my crumble too sweet), and combine using your fingers, so that the Lurpack Lightest is dispersed throughout, making little clumps of crumble topping.
  • Spoon the crumble topping onto the blackberries, making sure it is evenly spread.
  • Pop it in the oven for 25-30 minutes, till the blackberries are cooked and the crumble is golden.

12573856_10156325346515386_67809500238514035_nI like mine all on its own, but if you want to syn a little low-fat custard, or spoon fat-free fromage frais mixed with a little vanilla essence on top, I’m not going to tell you not to.

If I were making apple crumble, I wold have added cinnamon to the crumble mix, and you can do that with blackberries too if you like, but I prefer to keep it as plain and simple as possible, and let the blackberries speak for themselves.

You can use whatever butter or margerine or spread you like, but Lurpack Lightest is the lowest-syn one I’ve found so far, and I wanted to keep this as low-syn as possible. If you use another brand, you’ll have to adjust your syns accordingly.

So, there you go – a good-sized portion of a hearty, sweet, fruity, delicious pudding, and all for only 4.5 syns plus your Healthy B choice for the day. If you can’t enjoy a nice pudding on a Sunday after a roast dinner, when can you, eh?

If you try this recipe, I’d love to know what you think of it, so please do leave a comment below!

One thought on “Recipe: Blackberry Crumble

  1. I bought the frozen fruit mix from Aldi at £1.59. Some brambley apple’s at 99p. And their own fat free vanilla yogurt at 79p. You don’t need the vanilla essence with this one. I personally don’t syn it on Sunday! Cheap and delicious

    Like

Leave a Reply

