Ready-Made Review: Slimming World Chunky Tomato Sauce

12507227_10156332030040386_694198455419226872_nI was in a little bit of a hurry last night, so I thought I’d give the Slimming World Chunky Tomato Sauce a try, as the tub has been knocking about in my freezer for a little while now.

I had set my heart on meatballs and pasta, but as I’ve already mentioned, I was so pushed for time I couldn’t make my own from scratch as I usually do. Hello, Slimming World Meatballs – also in the freezer for dinner time emergencies such as this!

I chucked the meatballs in my trusty non-stick pan along with a chopped up onion, crushed garlic, some mushrooms, and diced red pepper (there would have been courgette in there too, but it had gone mushy in the fridge – gah!), and dry-fried the lot together till everything was cooked.

Meanwhile, I had pasta bubbling away in another pan, and I popped the pot of sauce in the microwave to heat up. Once that was done, I poured it into the meatballs and veg.

11251206_10156332125390386_7378098082983614218_n
There really are meatballs under there – you can’t see them in this picture, but they’re there – I promise!

It was a touch watery for my tastes, so I added a nice glob of tomato puree, and then threw in some dried mixed herbs, just because I like them, and stirred it all together. Once the pasta was done, I drained it and threw that in too.

I had already used cheese as my Healthy A option for the day (I made a crustless quiche the day before, and had the remainder for lunch with a large salad – delicious, by the way), so I did without my customary grated cheese on top, but it was rather tasty nonetheless.

I still prefer my own, made-from-scratch sauce, but the Slimming World Chunky Tomato Sauce will definitely have a place in my freezer for future use, as it’s very good indeed.

Please note, I WAS NOT PAID FOR THIS REVIEW, nor was I given this product for free – I bought it myself for my own personal use, and all opinions expressed are entirely my own.

Leave a Reply

