Recipe: Baked Oats

If you like Overnight Oats, but sometimes fancy a hot porridge breakfast without using up your Health Extra A allowance of milk, then you’re going to love Baked Oats!

The basic recipe is syn-free, but if you add fruit before baking it, you’ll need to syn it accordingly, because if you’re sticking to the plan 100%, cooked fruit has syns. I’m not going to get into an argument over whether or not to syn cooked or pureed fruit, because I don’t want to jeopardise anyone’s weight loss by contradicting the plan as st out by Slimming World. I understand there are many people who don’t syn coked fruit at all, some who don’t syn it if it’s just the amount they would have eaten raw, and others who syn it every time. You can use your own judgement and common sense as you see fit, but I tend to syn cooked fruit just to be on the safe side.

Now that’s out of the way, we can go on to the recipe!

Key:
F = Free food – eat as much of this as you like
S = Speed food – eat as much of this as you like, filling at least 1/3rd of your plate with it
P = Protein food – eat as much as you like
HEa = Healthy Extra A – daily dairy allowance
HEb = Healthy Extra B – daily fibre allowance

baked oats
Baked oats with 100g blackberries for 1 syn

BAKED OATS
1 portion – syn free + HEB, unless fruit is added before cooking

Ingredients:

  • 35g oats (HEB)
  • 1 pot Mullerlight syn-free yoghurt (F)
  • 1 egg (P)
  • Artificial sweetener, to taste – optional (F)
  • OPTIONAL – 100g fruit (syn accordingly)

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 200C.
  • Beat the egg well, and mix with the yoghurt till well combined (adding sweetener if desired).
  • Stir through the oats, making sure everything is well combined.
  • If adding fruit before cooking, gently fold it through the mixture at this point.
  • Pour into a small baking dish.
  • Pop the dish in the oven for 20-30 minutes (depends on the size of your baking dish) till the baked oats are slightly set and lightly browned on top.
baked oats with fruit
Baked oats topped with loads of fruit

I used 100g of blackberries in mine, as I picked a glut of them back in the autumn, I defrosted them overnight before adding them (without the resulting juice), which made my baked oats 1 syn plus my HEB. When I served up, I topped it with raspberries (S) and cherries (F), which I also defrosted overnight, and sliced up a pear (S), then drizzled some of the juices left from my berries defrosting over the top.

It was a delicious, filling breakfast that will keep my hunger locked up till lunch, which is just what I needed on a day when I’m going to be run off my feet!

You can add any fruit to this recipe and cook it in the oats:

  • 100g cooked/pureed rhubarb = 0.5 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed blackberries = 1 syn
  • 100g cooked/pureed blackcurrants = 1 syn
  • 100g cooked/pureed raspberries = 1 syn
  • 100g cooked/pureed redcurrants = 1 syn
  • 100g cooked/pureed whitecurrants = 1 syn
  • 100g cooked/pureed apples = 1.5 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed apricots = 1.5 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed guava = 1.5 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed loquats = 1.5 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed mixed berries = 1.5 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed peaches = 1.5 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed plums = 1.5 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed pomelo = 1.5 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed quinces = 1.5 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed blueberries = 2 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed greengages = 2 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed kumquats = 2 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed oranges = 2 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed passion fruit = 2 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed pears = 2 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed ugli fruit = 2 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed cherries = 2.5 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed kiwi fruit = 2.5 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed physallis =2.5 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed lychees = 3 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed mango = 3 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed mangosteen = 3.5 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed sharon fruit / persimmon = 3.5 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed banana = 4 syns
  • 100g cooked/pureed prunes = 4 syns

If you try this recipe, I’d love to know what you think of it, so please do leave a comment below!

8 thoughts on “Recipe: Baked Oats

  1. Sorry but could you explain what cooked puréed fruit means I have not heard of cooking fruit such as bananas how do you do this as I thought all fruit on slimming world was free although I still follow my old slimming world diet which I went to about 6yrs ago but I guess it’s all been updated since then

    Like

    • It just means that if you cook or puree or juice any fruit at all, it has a syns value, rather than being free or speed. It’s to do with you not feeling satiated with cooked or pureed or juiced fruit in the way you would with raw fruit, meaning you could easily eat way more of it that way. For example, If you were to squeeze the juice out of 20 oranges, you’d fill a glass and be able to drink it all down in one go and still eat a full meal. Whereas, if you had to sit and peal 20 oranges and eat them, you just couldn’t do it – you’d feel full after a few. It’s the same as if you pureed a load of fruit to make a smoothie – it whizzes down to way less than it would be if left whole. Honestly, I could easily put half my fruit bowl in a smoothie and drink it down, but I couldn’t sit and actually eat all that fruit in one go. And when you cook fruit, it reduces down, making it easier to eat loads more than you would raw.

      Like

  2. Bril thanks for explaining it I want to try this receipe do you use just ordinary porridge oats as I have not heard of overnight oats but I love your page the receipes are so easy and don’t require loads of ingredients and look simple for even me to try

    Like

  3. Just had the baked oat cake for brekkie I used Mullerlite strawberry yogurt and then topped with fresh strawberries it was lovely and very satisfying

    Like

  4. Hi Hun, have you ever tried reheating this and if so, how did it go? Sounds like a great one for work if I can reheat it! Thanks xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

