Recipe: Cloud Bread

I’m a BIG fan of bread – white, brown, wholemeal, soft, crusty, herby, pitta, foccacia, brioche, pains au chocolat – you name it, I love it. Since starting Slimming World, I’ve cut down on my bread intake significantly. Sometimes whole weeks go by without me having any. This is because I also love oats, and to not have overnight oats for breakfast a few times a week would be just terrible (I always take overnight oats with me to weigh in class on a Tuesday morning). I also love cereal bars, especially ones with a bit of chocolate in them – they keep me from going crazy and devouring my entire weight in sweets if I can have a couple of those instead.

So, as you can see, much as I love bread, it’s taken a back seat since I started doing Slimming World.

I’d heard about “cloud bread” before I even started doing Slimming World, but I never got round to making it, for some reason, and so I thought I’d give it a try now. After all, it would be nice to have a bread substitute that didn’t cost loads of syns, right? And I found a recipe that s essentially syn free, given that 1tsp of baking powder is half a syn, and the recipe only uses a quarter teaspoon and makes 8 portions. The original recipe called for cream cheese, but I reckoned that quark is a very good syn-free substitute for that in pretty much any recipe. And with only a handful ingredients, none of which are regular free foods, this is a great idea for when you’re doing SP days too. So, here it is:

Key:
F = Free food – eat as much of this as you like
S = Speed food – eat as much of this as you like, filling at least 1/3rd of your plate with it
P = Protein food – eat as much as you like
HEa = Healthy Extra A – daily dairy allowance
HEb = Healthy Extra B – daily fibre allowance

12670215_10156388747205386_4227885503582623348_nCLOUD BREAD
8 servings – syn-free

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs (P)
  • 3 tbsp quark (P)
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder (1tsp = 0.5 syns, so F in this case!)
  • pinch salt (optional) (F)
  • pinch dried mixed herbs (optional) (F)

Directions:

  • Pre-heat the oven to 150C.
  • Line a couple of baking trays with greaseproof paper.
  • Separate the eggs, with the whites in one bowl and the yolks in another.
  • Add the quark, and the salt and herbs (if using) to the yolks, and beat together.
  • Add the baking powder to the egg whites, and with a clean whisk, beat the egg whites till peaks form (it should be the consistency of whipped cream).
  • Gently fold the yolk mixture into the whites.
  • Immediately spoon into rounds on the baking trays – you should easily get eight portions.
  • Pop in the oven for 17-20 minutes.
  • Remove from the oven and cool.

From all accounts, this will keep for several days in an airtight container in the fridge.

And the verdict? Well, it’s not going to replace bread for me – not at all. It’s not really bready at all, flavour-wise, but if you like egg things, such as omlettes and quiches, you’ll find this quite unobtrusive to your palate. They’re soft, and airy, and tasty enough, and I expect they’ll work pretty well with a burger between a couple of them, so I’ll definitely make them again.

Worth a try, if you like your burger in a bun, but don’t want to use up your HEB or syns on one.

One thought on “Recipe: Cloud Bread

Leave a Reply

