Recipe: Single-Syn Crêpes

I know, I know – I’m a day late for Pancake Day, but I didn’t have pancakes yesterday, I had them today instead.

The reason for that was, all the Slimming World recipes I could find for pancakes either used yoghurt and oats (and I had overnight oats for breakfast), or were actually very thin, sweet omlettes, and I just didn’t want that – I wanted proper pancakes!

So today, I put together a quick, simple recipe to make a couple of proper pancakes as a treat for myself, and it worked out much better than I expected. Not only did they taste like proper pancakes, but the whole recipe came in at just two syns, and I got two pancakes out of that. Hurrah!

Key:
F = Free food – eat as much of this as you like
S = Speed food – eat as much of this as you like, filling at least 1/3rd of your plate with it
P = Protein food – eat as much as you like
HEa = Healthy Extra A – daily dairy allowance
HEb = Healthy Extra B – daily fibre allowance

12670463_10156402335385386_2031520612708039752_nSingle-Syn Crêpes
Makes 2 crêpes at 1 syn each

Ingredients:

  • 1 level tbsp plain flour (2)
  • 1 large egg (P)
  • 50 mls milk (HEA)
  • 1 pinch salt (F)
  • 1/2 tbsp artificial sweetener – optional (F)
  • 1/2 tbsp vanilla essence (F)
  • FryLight for frying (F)

Directions:

  • Whisk together the flour, eggs, milk, salt, sweetener, and vanilla essence.
  • Heat your frying pan and spray in a good amount of FryLight (I highly recomend using the coconut one, for a very nice flavour).
  • Pour half the mixture into the pan, and swirl it round to spread it evenly.
  • Fry til golden underneath, then flip it over and fry the second side till golden.
  • Pop it on a plate, and repeat with the second half of the batter.

I served mine with a sprinkle of sweetener, a good squeeze of lemon, and a handful of fresh raspberries, but you can top yours however you please.

And as it only uses 50mls of your HEA milk allowance, you’ll still have plenty left over for your tea, coffee, cereal, and whatever else you like to use it for throughout the day. You can’t say fairer than that!

If you try this recipe, I’d love to know what you think of it, so please do leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

