Recipe: Chocolate Mug Cake

Most of the cake-y Slimming World recipes I’ve tried have either tasted eggy, or tasted downright disgusting, so I was a little sceptical when I came across a recipe for a chocolate mug cake with only three ingredients (none of which was flour) that the poster was claiming was only 3 syns. Well, I took a look at the ingredients, checked Syns Online, and found it only came to a paltry 2.5 syns, so I thought I’d give it a try. I was very pleasantly surprised to end up with a cake that did not taste eggy and was rather pleasant. In fact, with a little low fat squirty cream (1 syn) and a strawberry to top it off, I had a nice little pudding that made me feel I’d actually had a pudding!

F = Free food (eat as much as you like)
S = Speed food (these should make up at least a third of your meal)
P = Protein free food (eat as much of these as you like!)
HEa = Healthy Extra A (a daily allowance of dairy produce)
HEb = Healthy Extra B (a daily allowance of a product with fibre)
# = a number denotes roughly how many syns are in foods used

12795458_10156470066830386_1840600721863713360_nChocolate Mug Cake
Serves 1
2.5 syns

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg (P)
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder (2.5)
  • 3 tbsp artificial sweetener (F)

Directions:

  • Crack the egg into a microwaveable mug/cup and beat it.
  • Add the cocoa powder and beat till well combined.
  • Beat in the sweetener.
  • Pop it in the microwave for 1 minute.
  • Turn out your cake and eat it!

It’s as simple as that! I’ve only eaten it warm, so I can’t comment on what it’s like cold. If you want to reduce the syns further, you could always try using an Options Hot Chocolate sachet instead (either 1.5 or 2 syns, depending on the flavour), but I don’t know how it would turn out, as the amount of cocoa powder goes some way towards replacing the flour. If you give it a try that way, let me know how it turns out. As for myself, I’m quite happy having a little chocolate cake all of my own for only 2.5 syns, while everyone else tucks into a slab of chocolate gateau – I won’t feel left out again!

Leave a Reply

