Recipe Review: Chunky Bean Burgers

12814596_10156488503645386_3791003478694010511_nAs I’ve gone vegetarian for the month of March, I’ve dragged out all my recipe books and trawled the Slimming World website for dishes suitable for those eating a plant-based diet, and I knew that at some point I was going to have to try my hand at making my own bean burgers.

I found the recipe for Chunky Bean Burgers With Cajun Wedges on the Slimming World website (just follow the link – you’ll have to be a member, I’m afraid – I can’t re-post the recipe here as it would breach the copyright rules set out by Slimming World).

I did make a couple of little changes – I omitted the spring onions (because I don’t like them), used pinto beans instead of kidney beans (because it was what I had to hand), and used a green pepper instead of a red one (as I had one I needed to use up). I then served mine with roasted butternut squash and balsamic roasted cherry tomatoes instead of the Cajun wedges, as I wanted to add a little extra speed food to my plate (which would make it a good SP choice, incidentally).

The mixture before baking was a little sloppy, and I feared my burgers would just spread and drip everywhere, and be mushy when I served them, but to my surprise, they actually firmed up when cooked and had a very pleasant texture. They were a touch bland, so I think I would maybe add some paprika, cayenne, or chilli powder next time I make them, but I will certainly make them again at some point. I had toyed with the idea of using a small wholemeal bread bun as my HEB and some cheese as my HEA to have with one of the burgers – perhaps I’ll do that for lunch with one of the leftover burgers tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

