Week 49 Weigh In

keep-calm-its-weigh-in-dayTralala-lala-lalala!

Can you tell I’m in a good mood? That’s because I shed 2.5lbs this week. Yup, that’s me – standing on the scales with a big smile on my face because I know I’ve been good all week, and getting a great result. 2.5lbs off is a big deal for me – if you’ve been hanging around this blog for any length of time, you’ll know it’s usually somewhere around the half pound or pound mark for me, even when I’ve had a perfect week, where many others would see a 5-6lbs loss for the same. It doesn’t bother me when other people lose more than me, though, because it’s still coming off! I’m heading in the right direction. Yes, I have my ups and downs, and I yo-yo for a bit before it all kick starts again, but that’s just how it is for me. I fully accept that.

Do you know why? Because this is my journey, not anyone else’s. Everyone will have their own journey and experience their own ups and downs. Nobody else can do this for me. And it’s not a race. It doesn’t matter if I do a sprint to the finish line, or do a marathon, cross-country style, so long as I get to where I’m going. I’ll get there in my own time.

And it’s the same for everyone – or it should be. I see a lot of people complaining that they’ve “only” lost half a pound (and a fair few complaining they’ve “only” lost 3lbs or more – I think everyone hates those people, to be honest!), but it’s weight that was on your body and isn’t any more, so you should celebrate that!

I am now 56lbs lighter than I was at New Year 2015. That’s a pretty awesome thing to be able to say. Do I feel a whole lot better in myself and more confident than I did when I was 5r6lbs heavier? You’d better believe I do! Do I wish I could get to target faster? Of course I do – who doesn’t wish they could wake up one morning and all the extra weight has melted away overnight? I’m only human, and of course I wish I could be where I want to be right now, but I have to be patient, and I have to work hard. I didn’t put on the weight overnight, and it’s not going to coe off overnight, no matter how hard I wish it.

Still, I’m now 2.5lbs closer to my target and planning my week ahead so I can kill it again next Tuesday with I step on those scales again!

happy dance

Leave a Reply

