Recipe: Falafel

I’m still in the midst of trying out new recipes that are suitable for vegetarians (No Meat March Challenge), which has really taken me out of a rut – I was making the same meals over and over again, and going nowhere fast, but now I’ve opened myself up to a whole new range of delicious food, and I’m loving it! I don’t think I’ll go vegetarian permanently, but I will certainly be drastically cutting down on my own meat consumption after this!

I’ve eaten falafel on many occasions, but I’d never made them myself from scratch… till now! It was much easier than I thought and resulted in a very tasty meal. This delicious middle eastern dish is sure to delight anyone, whether or not they are vegetarian!

Key:
F = Free food (eat as much as you like)
S = Speed food (these should make up at least a third of your meal)
P = Protein free food (eat as much of these as you like!)
HEA = Healthy Extra A (a daily allowance of dairy produce)
HEB = Healthy Extra B (a daily allowance of a product with fibre)
# = a number denotes roughly how many syns are in foods used

12805686_10156550723460386_7607805502625627545_nFALAFEL
Serves 2, syn-free

Ingredients:

  • 1 small carrot (S)
  • 1/2 red chilli (S)
  • 1/2 onion (S)
  • 1 can chickpeas (P)
  • 1cm ginger root (F)
  • 1tsp ground cumin (F)
  • 1/2 tsp chilli powder (F)
  • 1/2 tsp ground coriander (F)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder (F)*
  • 1 egg (P)
  • Frylight
  • Paprika to sprinkle on top

Directions:

  • Drain and rinse the chickpeas.
  • Peel and grate the carrot and ginger root. De-seed the chilli, and peel the onion.
  • Put all the ingredients (bar the Frylight, obviously) in a food processor and pulse for a few minutes till blended but still slightly chunky.
  • Put the mixture in a bowl, cover with cling film, and pop it in the fridge for 2-6 hours to firm up a little and let the flavours infuse.
  • Line a baking tray with greaseproof paper, and spray with a little Frylight.
  • Divide the mixture into 8 equal portions and shape into balls with your hands, and space them out evenly on the tray. Sprinkle a little paprika over them.
  • Pop them in the oven at 200C for 20-25 minutes, till golden.
  • Serve hot or cold.

I served mine hot with couscous and roasted vegetables, but they are equally delicious cold with a salad, and you could always syn a pitta, or use a wholemeal one as your HEB choice, and make a yoghurt dressing to drizzle on top for an authentic middle-eastern version.

They’re actually very quick to make – I put my mixture together in about 10 minutes while waiting for a friend to arrive, and just popped it in the fridge ready to form into balls for my evening meal. They took abo0ut 2 minutes to for, and then bang, into the oven. 12 minutes prep and 20 minutes cooking ain’t at all bad!

If you try this recipe, please leave a comment below to let me know what you thought of it!

 

* Baking powder is 1/2 syn per tsp, so 1/2 tsp divided between 2 portions is syn-free.

One thought on “Recipe: Falafel

Leave a Reply

