Ready-Made Review: Slimming World Cottage Pie

12924324_10156656071420386_1277121462646961791_nTime for another ready-made review! It’s been a little while since Slimming World brought out a few extra meals, but I don’t often eat ready meals (apart from those I make myself from scratch to pop in the freezer!), so I’ve only just got round to trying this one out.

After being very disappointed with the veg crush that came with the very nice beef in red onion gravy, I was a little apprehensive about trying another meal that had that same carrot and swede mix, but I needn’t have worried – there was none of the strong aftertaste I had experienced with that meal.

The minced beef was nicely cooked, the gravy was tasty, and the carrot and swede mash atop the dish complemented it well. The topping felt a little wet, as is often the case with frozen ready meals, but not unduly so, and it wasn’t off-putting in the least. The wetness might have been combated had I opted to cook the meal in the oven, but I went for the quick and handy microwave option instead.

12924606_10156656071430386_5653293156512866064_nI served mine with baby corn, broccoli, mangetout, and green beans, all of which were steamed in the time it took to microwave the meal (13 minutes plus one minute resting time afterwards), so I had more than the recommended one-third speed, and I ate that first to make sure I got it in, meaning I actually ended up leaving a little of the cottage pie as I was so full!

Overall, I found this a very pleasantly tasty meal, and although I much prefer my own home-made version of cottage pie (colclapshottage pie, which is gorgeous!), this would certainly be one I’d consider having in the freezer for emergencies.

 

 

Please note, I WAS NOT PAID FOR THIS REVIEW, nor was I given this product for free – I bought it myself for my own personal use, and all opinions expressed are entirely my own.

Leave a Reply

