Ready-Made Review: Kohinoor Paneer Butter Masala

It’s the weekend, and everyone around you is crying out for a take-away. Should it be pizza? Or Chinese? Oh, I know – let’s get an Indian! Everyone loves a good curry, right?

Except, if you’re trying to lose weight, you might as well just take the take-away food and glue it directly onto your thighs and stomach. Am I right?

Now, you can easily make a really good curry from scratch yourself, but then it wouldn’t feel like a take-out, and that’s what I’m looking at here – something that will taste like a take-out curry, but not come loaded with a gazillion syns.

And I’ve found it.

And it’s only 4 syns.

How’s that for you?

And if you’re vegetarian, you can still eat it, because it’s a paneer dish.

In case you don’t already know, paneer is a kind of cheese. Not a cheesy-cheese, an incredibly mild cheese that’s often used in Indian cooking. I know, to those who have never tried it or heard of it, having a “cheese curry” sounds completely alien, but trust me on this – your taste buds will thank you!

13265902_10156809046065386_4049838229013747791_nLadies and gentlemen, fans of Indian cuisine everywhere, I give you Kohinoor Paneer Butter Masala!

The package says it serves two, and I suppose if you’re serving it as a starter, it might well do that (in which case, it would be 2 syns per portion), but I actually think that for four syns, you can pad it out with some seed veg, serve it with some rice, and you have a substantial and filling main meal for one.

I usually add onions, mushrooms, peppers and courgette to mine, but sometimes I also throw in some baby corn or whatever other veg I have (steamed cauliflower works particularly well), and if you like chickpeas, feel free to chuck in a handful of those too.

The sauce is deliciously buttery, rich, smooth, and plentiful. It’s also very mild (only one chilli rating on the package), so if you like things a little spicier, you might want to add some of your favourite curry powder and/or some chillies for some added kick – I have been known to add both because I generally like my curry quite hot, but this is equally delicious in its original mild state. You can pop the pouch in the microwave, or empty the contents into a pan and heat for a few minutes – either way, by the time you’ve cooked your rice and sauteed off some veg, your actual butter paneer masala only takes a few minutes to heat and be ready to eat.

I absolutely LOVE this curry. It tastes indulgent but is low enough in syns to feel I’m not wasting any of them. Whenever I see these in Lidl I pick up as many as I can, because you can store them in your regular pantry or store cupboard – it doesn’t need to be refrigerated before opening.

If you fancy a curry that tastes like a take-out treat, but you don’t want to blow all your syns in one go, I highly recommend giving this one a try. You can always make some onion bhajis, at only half a syn per bhaji, to go with it and really feel like you’re splurging!

Enjoy! You can thank me later.

Edited to add: I forgot to say where I got this! I got mine from Lidl – they only have them in occasionally as part of their various promotions, so whenever I see them, I grab a fair few. They can be stored in your pantry, as they don’t need refrigeration. You can buy them online from various places (just google it – they’ll come up), but they cost a little bit more that way. So, if you see them in Lidl, grab as many as you can while you can!

13254294_10156809046080386_4750799787370436379_n
I added onion, mushrooms, red pepper, and courgette to my paneer butter masala, and served it with rice, which I cooked with turmeric to give it a golden colour. Delicious!

 

Please note, I WAS NOT PAID FOR THIS REVIEW, nor was I given this product for free – I bought it myself for my own personal use, and all opinions expressed are entirely my own.

Leave a Reply

