Ready-Made Review: Slimming World Syn-Free Chilli & Coriander Beef Quarter Pounders

8912974446622It’s almost BBQ season – in fact, some places have already seen BBQ-friendly weather, so what better time than now for Slimming World to release their limited edition chilli and coriander beef quarter pounders? I don’t know how long they’ll be around, seeing as how they’re labeled as “limited edition” so if you try them and find you’re a fan, grab them while you can, safe in the knowledge that they’ll keep in the freezer for quite some time. As is the case with all the Slimming World meals, these are syn-free.

We actually had a taste of these in weigh-in class when they first came out, and the smell of them cooking drove us all wild – they smell absolutely gorgeous – the hint of chilli permeating the meatiness. Does the taste live up to the promise of their scent? Not quite, but they do taste rather nice!

They have a little more “oomph” to them than the regular beef quarter pounders, but their heat isn’t so much that it would put off those with a taste for milder spiciness – it’s just a hint of flavour and lingers while you chew, and you get a small hit as it goes down. I have to say, I don’t really notice the coriander, but that doesn’t bother me.

13342912_10156846165760386_5702392453594143003_nI topped mine with my HEA allowance of cheese, and served it on a bed of sauteed mushrooms, onions, and peppers, with a salad on the side. I didn’t bother with a bun, but that is certainly an option, or you could grill some giant mushrooms to serve it on if that floats your boat. They’re nice and juicy and meaty, which is what you’d expect from a burger. They do shrink a little in cooking, but that’s usually the case with burgers. For the record, I grilled mine in the kitchen, but I look forward to giving them a try on the BBQ when we get our new one this summer.

I still prefer my own, home-made burgers (and I suspect I always will, because they are AWESOME!), but these are a nice staple to keep in your freezer for those nights when you don’t have time to make them yourself from scratch. Incidentally, you can find the recipe for my own homemade burgers at the bottom of my previous burger review post HERE.

As with all the Slimming World meals, the recipe is on the back of the packet, if you decide you’d like to try your hand at making them yourself.

Please note, I WAS NOT PAID FOR THIS REVIEW, nor was I given this product for free – I bought it myself for my own personal use, and all opinions expressed are entirely my own.

Leave a Reply

