Recipe: Scan Bran Chocolate Cake

Day one of the Scan Bran Challenge, and a recipe too. See how good I am to you? Even when I feel awful, I’m good to you! 😉

So, it’s the first day of the Scan Bran Challenge – five Scan Bran (Healthy B choice) and five glasses of water every day for a week.

I made Scan Bran Chocolate cake. Here’s the recipe if you’d like to try it for yourself.

Key:
F = Free food (eat as much as you like)
S = Speed food (these should make up at least a third of your meal)
P = Protein free food (eat as much of these as you like!)
HEA = Healthy Extra A (a daily allowance of dairy produce)
HEB = Healthy Extra B (a daily allowance of a product with fibre)
# = a number denotes roughly how many syns are in foods used

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Scan Bran Chocolate Cake
(HEB + 2 syns for the whole thing)

Ingredients:

  • 5 Scan Bran (HEB)
  • A little hot water (F)
  • 3 tbsp artificial sweetener (F)*
  • 1 sachet hot chocolate (2)
  • 2 eggs (P)

Directions:

  • Soak the Scan Bran in a little hot water – just enough to ensure it all breaks up easily – then remove any excess water.
  • Mix together your eggs, sweetener, and hot chocolate in a bowl, then add the Scan Bran and mix well.
  • Pour into a microwaveable container and microwave on high for 5 minutes.
  • Remove from microwave and allow to cool a little, before turning out your cake onto a wire rack to finish cooling.

I used a Cadbury Highlights Bournville hot chocolate sachet for my cake (2 syns), but you could use an Options Chocolate Orange sachet instead (1.5 syns) if you fancied – I’m sure that would be nice too.

This isn’t the greatest cake in the world, and it’s certainly not the most chocolatey, but I found this relatively pleasant. I had half of it for breakfast served with a dollop of quark (with a touch of sweetener and some vanilla essence) and some strawberries for the speed element. I’ll have the other half later on.

*  Please note that the latest information from Slimming World states that larger amounts of spoonable sweetener should now be synned to safeguard your weight loss. Apparently, it’s 0.5 syns per tablespoon, so if you want to follow that strictly, it adds another 1.5 syns to the recipe. I’m not saying you have to, I’m just saying that’s what the literature now says. If you’re only making this as a one off, I don’t see any problem in using your common sense and not logging the syns, but in the spirit of full disclosure, I thought I’d add that info here at the end.

Leave a Reply

