Recipe: Thai Red Curry

I don’t know about you, but I love a nice curry. One of my favourite ingredients to use in a curry is coconut milk, but even the low fat version is kinda syn-ful, so lately I haven’t been using it. My curry still tastes good, but it’s not been quite the same.

Then someone mentioned an idea that was so simple, I couldn’t believe I hadn’t thought of it myself (my excuse is that I’m still suffering from post-natal baby brain and can’t think straight!).

So, here’s my new, Slimming World friendly version of a Thai red curry that has left me with a smile on my face and a satisfyingly happy tummy.

Key:
F = Free food (eat as much as you like)
S = Speed food (these should make up at least a third of your meal)
P = Protein free food (eat as much of these as you like!)
HEa = Healthy Extra A (a daily allowance of dairy produce)
HEb = Healthy Extra B (a daily allowance of a product with fibre)
# = a number denotes roughly how many syns are in foods used

11845003_10155849583380386_3718164968768758753_oTHAI RED CURRY
Two servings at 1 syn each

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts (or enough leftover roast chicken for two people) (P)
  • 1 Mullerlight Limited Edition, Inspired by Bali, Coconut with a Hint of Lime* (F)
  • 2 tbsp Thai red curry paste (2)
  • Fry Light with coconut oil (F)
  • Speed vegetables of choice (S)
  • 1 tbsp tomato puree (F) – optional

Directions:

  • Fry the chicken and veg in a little Fry Light with coconut oil till cooked through.
  • Pour in the yoghurt and add the curry paste and tomato puree (if using).
  • Stir through on a low heat till heated through, to ensure it doesn’t curdle.
  • Serve.

I added onion, garlic, mushrooms and courgette, and served it with Thai jasmin rice (because I love that it’s sticky) and a salad of cucumber and radish. I didn’t use the tomato puree and I’d inexplicably run out, and didn’t realise till it came time to add it to the pan.

It was delicious – light, fragrant, and with that coconut flavour I’d been missing.

If you want to go entirely syn-free, use curry powder instead of curry paste – I’ve been assured by my sister it tastes good that way too, but if you want it to taste really rich and decadent, stick with the paste – there’s nothing quite like it!

* For Gods’ sake, please make sure you get the Mullerlight Limited Edition, Inspired by Bali, Coconut with a Hint of Lime, and NOT the Mullerlight Coconut Yogurt Sprinkled with Dark Chocolate, Limited Edition, because I can’t imagine flecks of chocolate being a great addition to your curry! A hint of dark chocolate in your chilli is fine (and rather delicious, actually), but I don’t fancy the idea of it in a curry! If you do inadvertently use the wrong one, don’t blame me if it turns out horrid. On the other hand, if it turns out to be gorgeous, please do let me know!

Leave a comment